22 March 2009

Shri Mohan Bhagwat

Shri K S Sudarshan (77) has stepped down as Sarsanghachalak (chief of the RSS). He has handed over the reins to Shri Mohan Bhagwat (58), who was till now serving as Sarkaryavah (general secretary).

Mohanji is the 6th chief in the 83-year-old history of the RSS. Previous Sarsanghachalaks were:

1. Dr K B Hedgewar (1925–1940)
2. Guruji M S Golwalkar (1940–1973)
3. Balasaheb M D Deoras (1973–1994)
4. Prof Rajendra Singh (1994–2000)
5. Shri K S Sudarshan (2000–2009)

Mohanji is a veterinary doctor from Chandrapur in Maharashtra. He became a pracharak in 1975, at the age of 25. He will be succeeded as Sarkaryavah by Shri Suresh Joshi (61), aka Bhaiyaji Joshi.

This was announced at the Akhila Bharatiya Pratinidhi Sabha (ABPS), which is underway at the RSS headquarters in Nagpur.

No comments: